Review: Tell Me Something – Adele Parks

May 9, 2010

Title:     Tell Me Something

Author: Adele Parks

Rating: 8/10

Good For: Holiday Reading

We’ve been bad bloggers of late, but we do have excuses: Kat’s only been reading books about photography, Apow is currently otherwise engaged, and me – well, I just haven’t been reading as much as I would like to.

Anyway, I do love Adele Parks (even more so since the lady herself left a comment on my blog last year when I mentioned that I enjoy her books), and was pleased to find this one, which I hadn’t previously read.

The story centres around Elizabeth, a die-hard romantic, who has always dreamed of having an Italian husband and lots of babies.  She achieves the first dream, but is having difficulty achieving the second.  The majority of the story takes place in Italy, where she and Roberto, her husband, have moved to, to run his family business. 

Elizabeth soon finds there’s more to living in Italy than eating ice cream in sun drenched piazzas, and along with a scheming mother-in-law from hell, Roberto’s significant ex seems to be hellbent on destroying her marriage.  Add into the mix a gorgeous American man who befriends Elizabeth, and …. well, I won’t spoil the story for you.

It’s chick-lit, no doubt – but I like Adele Parks’ writing, and she does chick-lit very well indeed.  Would be a brilliant beach read for the summer.

2 Responses to “Review: Tell Me Something – Adele Parks”

  1. I’ve not seen this one either – will look out for it!

  2. Thanks again for the lovely review of another one of my books. You are fabulous and I very much appreciate you spreading the word – that’s the joy of reading groups.

    Happy reading
    Adele
    x

Leave a Reply

