Review: Restless

March 30, 2010

Title: Restless

Author: William Boyd

ISBN: 9780747586203

Rating: 10/10

Great For: WW2 story lovers

I would never have picked up this book had it not been for the fact that it’s this month’s choice for my book club. The reason I wouldn’t have picked it up is because it has ‘winner of’ some prize or other written on the cover, which normally turns me right off – I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed a prize winning book before!

Anyway, the story starts in Paris in 1939, where Eva Delectorskaya, a Russian emigree, is recruited for the British Secret Service.  Under the tutelage of a mysterious Englishman, Eva becomes the perfect spy, learning to mask her emotions and trust no one, including those she loves most. 

Since the war, she’s rebuilt her life and become a typical English wife and mother – but once a spy, always a spy.

Like Kat, I’m a fan of anything set in WW2, and this book had me absolutely hooked from beginning to end.  I literally couldn’t put it down.  And when I finished it late last night, I felt like I’d lost a friend.  Now, THAT’s a sign of a good book.

Caroline x

One Response to “Review: Restless”

  1. Kat said

    Going to have to hunt this one down in my library! Sounds great!

    x

Leave a Reply

